HODIE!

Hodie is latin for “Today.”  Today, I am grateful, and give thanks to the Great Spirit for all gifts of abundance!

The following is a brief introduction to honor the contributions of the 10th Century Abbess, Hildegard von Bingen, who was so far ahead of her time.

A TENTH CENTURY ABBESS

Saint Hildegard of Bingen was a German philosopher, writer, visionary, composer, Christian mystic, Benedictine abbess, and polymath.  The exact date her birth is relatively uncertain, however, she was born in the 10th Century, and founded the monasteries of Rupertsberg and Eibingen in the 11th Century.

She also wrote theological, botanical and medicinal texts, as well as letters with the use of an invented alternative alphabet, known as the “Lingua Ignota,” latin for “unknown language.”

SAINT HILDEGARD – COMPOSER

Saint Hildegard wrote liturgical songs, and poems.  One of her surviving works is the Ordo Virtutum, a liturgical drama, and possibly the oldest surviving morality play.

Enjoy the beautiful vocal rhythm of Jocelyn Montgomery, singing Hodie.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Gneiss Moon
    Jun 01, 2012 @ 09:12:32

    Unknown languages, so very Gem. I love it !
    Thank you, I am grateful for your lovely tribute to Saint Hildegard and her transcendant music.

    • THE ANCIENT LIBRARIAN
      Jun 01, 2012 @ 13:52:43

      You’re welcome! She was a remarkable soul, and I’m grateful that she left such a grand legacy!

      I wanted to share my gratitude in a prayerful composition, and Saint Hildegard seemed appropriate to express my feelings TODAY, and every day for the compassion, support and encouragement of my Inner Crew!

      ASHE’

  2. Perianne
    Jun 01, 2012 @ 23:24:40

    I love her songs, alas my internet is not allowing your clip hodie. I will have to return. I marvel at how prolific she was. It must have been joyful being such a polymath. May hodie, be full of joy and light for you.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 448 other followers

