SIBYL OF DELPHI, DIVINE SEER

Michelangelo’s Delphic Sibyl, Sistine Chapel

The Delphi Sibyl was a legendary seer, who prophesied in the sacred Temple of Apollo at Delphi, located on the slopes of Mount Parnassus.  In the Gaeco-Roman world, there were several prophetic figures named Sibyls.

The word Sibyl comes (via Latin) from the Greek word Sibylla, meaning Prophetess.  According to legend, the seers wondered throughout, and prophesied at certain holy sites.  Some of the prophecies include the  exploits of Alexander the Great, and the Trojan War.  There are many legends surrounding the birth of the Sibyls.

Do you believe Sibyls exist in the modern world?

Photo Credit:   Mattes from Wikimedia Commons (original source)

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Gneiss Moon
    Apr 13, 2012 @ 21:00:52

    Hello Ancient Librarian…
    Cool post, and yes I do think there are modern day sybills (sp. plural?)
    I think they are often playing guitars ~ musicians ‘get it’ before many in the world because they are soaking up the vibes like psychics do, only through a different artistic channel. Electric (Uranus) guitars (Neptune) !
    : ) cya

    • THE ANCIENT LIBRARIAN
      Apr 13, 2012 @ 21:23:26

      Thank you, Gneiss Moon! I’m glad you like my post!

      I’m Venus trine Neptune! Poetry, and music! I’m often intrigued by the amazing sounds of musical instruments, and the musicians who play them. How does that
      happen? Also, when a singer opens his or her mouth — not only the voice, but
      how does it feel?

      Sometimes, I think that if I could sing, I could rule the world!

      But that’s okay! The Universe has a different assignment for me in this lifetime. It’s called the “Scribe.”

      You are my first comment. I’m sooooooo excited!

      ASHE’

  2. Gneiss Moon
    Apr 13, 2012 @ 21:34:41

    YaY !
    I’m number ONE ! lol
    The Scribe. Love that ! I am the Shiva. Destroyer and creator.
    Singing feels really good, and moon was in trine to Jupiter recently (which was parked near my natal Toro moon) and I knew in an instant – the notes came easier.
    Stages of the moon will cause fluctuations in the vocal chords too, fluid in the body ya know yadda yadda.

    Do you write poetry or draw ? You said Neptune in 5th (was thinking 4th house would be excellent for hydroponics) but you must be a huge fan of music, yes ?

    Me too ~ if so, you will be entertained over at my place. Next up is Zappa ! He’ll be a fun one ~
    cya around xo

