LIBRARY OF CELSIUS

LIBRARY OF CELSIUS, EPHESUS TURKEY

The Library of Celsius at Ephesus was constructed by the Consul Gaius Julius Aquila, beginning in 117 AD as a Heroum (monumental shrine of a hero) for the Governor Celsius Polemaenus of the Roman province of Asia.  The library stored approximately 12,000 scrolls, and was completed in 135 AD.

A statue of Athena, Goddess of wisdom, strategy and truth stood in the apse, a semicircular or hemispherical vault or semi-dome of the ornate facade.

 

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Gneiss Moon
    Jun 19, 2012 @ 16:01:06

    Lovely post for all the beautiful Gemini energy in our skies…
    My Merc at MC *loves* libraries !

  2. turtlephoenix
    Jun 24, 2012 @ 16:57:41

    That’s so beautiful!

  3. ellieevensong
    Jun 27, 2012 @ 12:24:45

    I love this blog….I resonate so intensely with the energies behind “ancient librarian”, ancient greece and angels…..there is a world that you are bringing forward here that I completely connect to….Light and Love…Namaste.

  4. Gneiss Moon
    Jun 30, 2012 @ 20:48:01

    Ace, have you used the Egyptian Book of Doors Deck ? I think you would like. I drew a card “the Scribe” the other day, and immediately thought of you ! Card was refering to Lady of the House of Books which describes my surrounds, gave me a chuckle. Just thought you might want to look into the deck, if you haven’t already – is rich in Egyptian symbolism. Hope you are well…

  5. Kathleen Lamoureux
    Jul 07, 2012 @ 00:26:48

    Great post! My first real job was working at the Library of Congress so I completely resonate to this structure and to the statue of Athena standing in wisdom in the Apse. Interesting to note that the year this structure was beginning to be built in 117 AD and completed in 135 AD both come to the number 9 which is a number of the aristocratic and the number that serves humanity.

